Charlotte Cuts It Out Review

Title: Charlotte Cuts It Out Author: K.A. Barson Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult Goodreads Synopsis: Lydia and I were in eighth grade when we came up with our Grand Plan to go to cosmetology school and get jobs to build our clientele while we earned business degrees. Then we’d open our own salon … Continue reading Charlotte Cuts It Out Review

The Fashion Committee Review

Title: The Fashion Committee Author: Susan Juby Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult Goodreads Synopsis: What if one contest could change the course of your entire life? Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps, and breathes fashion. John Thomas-Smith is a boy who forges metal sculptures in his garage and couldn’t care … Continue reading The Fashion Committee Review

ARC Review: The Artsy Mistake Mystery

Title: The Artsy Mistake Mystery Author: Sylvia McNicoll Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, mystery, middle grade Goodreads Synopsis: They say he’s been stealing art. But is Attila being framed? Outdoor art is disappearing all over the neighbourhood! From elaborate Halloween decorations to the Stream of Dreams fish display across the fence at Stephen and Renée’s … Continue reading ARC Review: The Artsy Mistake Mystery

Between Shades of Gray Review

Title: Between Shades of Gray Author: Ruta Sepetys Genre & Age Group: Historical fiction, young adult Goodreads Synopsis: Lina is just like any other fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl in 1941. She paints, she draws, she gets crushes on boys. Until one night when Soviet officers barge into her home, tearing her family from the comfortable life … Continue reading Between Shades of Gray Review

Ink Review

Title: Ink Author: Amanda Sun Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, romance, paranormal, fantasy, young adult Goodreads Synopsis: On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she … Continue reading Ink Review

ARC Review: You’re Welcome, Universe

Title: You're Welcome, Universe Author: Whitney Gardner Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult Goodreads Synopsis: A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti. When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of … Continue reading ARC Review: You’re Welcome, Universe

ARC Review: Optimists Die First

Title: Optimists Die First Author: Susin Nielsen Genre & Age Group: Contemporary, young adult Goodreads Synopsis: Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will. Beware: Life ahead. Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting … Continue reading ARC Review: Optimists Die First